What is your favorite game in the Gran Turismo series?

A forum for video games, new & retro, on consoles, computers, handheld & mobile. Also for tech talk, things like PC parts, phones etc.
Calavera
Fighting Mongooses

What is your favorite game in the Gran Turismo series?

Post by Calavera »

Back in the late 90s I played a ton of Gran Turismo and Gran Turismo 2. I loved GT2 but even back then I though the graphics were pretty pixelated. Then GT2 Bleem!cast came out and fixed that issue! I bought GT3 for the PS2 when it first came out and I played it quite a bit. Probably not as much as I played 2 but it was still an enjoyable game. After that I pretty much quit playing new GT games. I borrowed GT4 on PS2 from a friend back in the day and only played it a little bit.

Recently I started playing Gran Turismo 2 emulated on the PC. The graphics obviously look much better emulated then on the original system. To me it is still basically as enjoyable now as it was back when it first came out. After playing GT2 for a bit I figured why not play GT4 since I have GT3 and GT4 for the PS2 emulator. The first thing I don't like about GT4 is the main menu. In 1,2 and 3 the main menu was one screen with each option easily selectable. In GT4 you can't see all the options at once and have to move around the screen to find them all. It has many options on the main screen that should be a sub menu. It may sound like a minor complaint but I really dislike it. Besides that the actual gameplay is basically the same as GT3.